ZOMG! More New Words for Oxford Dictionary

I’d write this post entirely in ‘133t’ speak, but I’m a bit tired, which drags my brain back to thinking in my native tongue: Grunting.

In any case, the Oxford Dictionaries Online have added some brand new words of the kind that would have made my long ago elementary school teacher (Sister Anne) despair. Among them are:

  • Twittersphere
  • NSFW
  • ZOMG
  • breadcrumb trail
  • bridezilla
  • man cave

Looks like more words I don’t get to force writers to change. It’s a shame. Of course, if I read people using ‘lappy’ as another word for their laptop, my violent reaction will definitely be NSFW.

This entry was posted in Definitions, Metaphors and Similes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

