Should Shakespeare Be Exhumed to Discover if He Smoked Weed?

No. What are you, high?

Why write I still all one, ever the same,
And keep invention in a noted weed,
That every word doth almost tell my name,
Showing their birth, and where they did proceed?

So? I’m willing to concede that Shakespeare might have smoked cannabis, even on such flimsy textual evidence. I’m also willing to concede that Cypress Hill did as well. How does this help archaeology?

Stop it. So what if he was stoned? Thomas Edison probably did some of his best work while high on coke. Shakespeare, like many other creative folks throughout the centuries, might have taken mind-altering substances. I think I’m pretty much of the same mind as io9.com:

For now, we’ll just have to keep wondering whether Shakespeare wrote Hamlet while occasionally smoking pot. No, I don’t know how I’ll be able to stand the suspense, either.

Snark aside, anthropologist Kristina Killgrove sums it up quite nicely:

“I’m not a big fan of opening up the tombs of Mona Lisa or Shakespeare to see how they died. I’m not really sure what it will tell us other than the lifestyle of somebody in Elizabethan England.”

This entry was posted in Rumors/Gossip, Science is Real and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

